Archive for August 26, 2010

So, I haven’t blogged in a few weeks. Maybe more like a couple of months. It’s been a good, busy, exhausting, good, busy summer.

The quick update: I’m still training for the 2010 Chicago Marathon. I’m almost 30%  of the way to the $2620 I hope to raise (with your help) for the Hall Steps Foundation.  Many of you, family and friends, who read my blog (or I should say, “read,” as in past tense), are to be thanked for your generous support. THANK YOU!!!

Training has suffered a bit in recent weeks due to my work, but I’m thankful to say that I have not yet missed a long run on the weekend. I’m also extremely thankful that the pain I’d been having in my right hip flexor has gone away. Ironically, it stopped hurting after I ran my (then) longest run of my life: 17 miles, while we were spending the weekend with the family of one of Sara’s childhood friends in Wisconsin a few weeks ago. Thank you, God!

My longest run yet (a few nights ago) has been 18 miles. It’s all beginning to feel real. I no longer have a hope to finish in a time that I’d be proud of; I’m really not a fast runner, and I’ve come to accept that. Now, my goal is just to finish the training and, Lord willing, finish that 26.2 mile race on October 10.

It feels like summer is just beginning for me, and kids are starting back to school this week. At work, we had no real downtime between the end of the school year and the launch of our new summer program, which lasted six weeks and pretty much kept me on my toes for each of those 6 weeks. (Which is the reason my blogging really went on hiatus for the bulk of the summer).

The summer program was part of this College Readiness program we started last October. We called it Summer Scholars, and we served two groups of kids: a middle school-age group and a high school group. Each group of kids came in for programming three days per week, and we took the on trips almost every one of those days. Trips included career trips (to provide exposure to different workplaces…highlights included a tour of the World’s Finest Chocolate plant and the Cook County Criminal Courthouse) college/high school trips (self-explanatory), and community trips to various cultural centers and events (e.g. DuSable Museum of African-American History, National Museum of Mexican Art, Chicago Public Library, etc.). Programming also featured standardized test practice, Bible study discussions, enrichment classes, and team-building activities.

Toward the end of the summer program, things got increasingly busy, as a report to a major funder had to be completed, a new grant application deadline had to be met, and a new staff member had to be hired.

I will say that while it was an exhausting summer workwise, it was also very good. God really seemed to bless Summer Scholars, He really knit our staff together as a stronger, more cohesive team, and I believe that kids’ lives were impacted for good in the process. Each day was tremendously fast-paced, beyond my comfort zone, but I really believe God carried me along through it and proved His presence and faithfulness once again.

Needless to say, though, I was glad to reach last Friday, knowing that I had (almost…still have to take care of some things while I’m off) crossed the finish line for my summer responsibilities. And now, I’m off this week and hopefully next week as well. Finally ready to kick it into a carefree, summer state of mind. But wait! Kids are starting school this week! Mine included! I’m so confused!

So now, summer is over. Gabe starts school tomorrow (more on that, I hope, later). I’m not at a point where I can just cast work aside during time off, taking on a truly carefree state of mind, which tempts me to be discontent and to feel sorry for myself. But, I trust that, for whatever reason, I am where God wants me. He’s giving me what I need for this particular point in my life, and regardless of the season (as in summer, winter, etc.), He is good, and He’s taking care of me and my family. And for that, I’m tremendously thankful.

I hope to get back into keeping this blog up to date. In the meantime, please share my fundraising page with your contacts! Only 7 weeks to go until the marathon!